Monday, September 14, 2026
Comparison2027 Chevrolet Bolt or 2026 Nissan LEAF? Side-by-Side EV Comparison

2027 Chevrolet Bolt or 2026 Nissan LEAF? Side-by-Side EV Comparison

Specification comparison examines pricing, range, charging speed, technology, and design differences between two affordable electric vehicles.

  • Bolt starts at $43,470; LEAF S+ at $47,846—$4,376 price difference

  • LEAF offers 488 km range; Bolt provides 410 km—78 km advantage

  • Bolt charges faster: 26 minutes vs 35 minutes to 80%


Two well-known electric vehicles are returning to Canadian dealerships with different approaches to affordable EV ownership. The 2027 Chevrolet Bolt comes back as a limited-edition model focused on lower pricing and quick charging, while the completely redesigned 2026 Nissan LEAF emphasizes maximum driving range and SUV-style versatility.

Both vehicles target buyers looking for practical electric transportation under $50,000, but they make different choices about what matters most—price versus range, charging speed versus cargo space, hatchback convenience versus crossover styling.

What Powers Them: Motors and Batteries

2026 Nissan LEAF | Photo: Nissan

Understanding what makes these EVs go helps explain their different strengths and trade-offs.

Bolt: Uses a 210-horsepower electric motor powering the front wheels. The 65-kWh battery uses LFP technology—a newer battery type that lasts longer and costs less than older designs. This helps keep the Bolt’s price lower. The motor is shared with the larger Chevrolet Equinox EV, which helps reduce costs through parts sharing. Chevrolet hasn’t officially announced torque numbers, but related vehicles with this motor produce between 236 and 266 pound-feet.

LEAF: Comes with two motor options depending on which battery you choose. The larger 75-kWh battery version makes 214 horsepower and 261 pound-feet of torque, while the smaller 53-kWh version (arriving spring 2026) produces 174 horsepower and 254 pound-feet. Both power the front wheels. The battery includes a liquid cooling system that keeps it at the right temperature, plus it can recycle waste heat from the motor to warm the battery in cold weather. Nissan hasn’t specified what type of battery chemistry it uses.

What This Means: The LEAF has slightly more power (4 more horsepower) and a bigger battery (10 kWh more), while the Bolt uses newer battery technology that may help with charging speed and long-term durability.

Power and Battery Comparison

What You Get2027 Bolt2026 LEAF (75 kWh)
Horsepower210 hp214 hp
TorqueAround 236-266 lb-ft (not official)261 lb-ft
Which Wheels Get PowerFront wheelsFront wheels
Battery Size65 kWh75 kWh
Battery TypeLFP (newer technology)Not specified
Battery CoolingNot specifiedLiquid cooling with heat recovery

How Far They Go and How Fast They Charge

2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

Range and charging time are the two biggest practical concerns for EV buyers.

Driving Range:

The Bolt can travel an estimated 410 kilometres on a full charge. The LEAF goes farther—up to 488 kilometres—thanks to its larger 75-kWh battery. That’s 78 extra kilometres, or roughly one more day of typical driving between charges for most people.

To put this in perspective: the average Canadian drives about 50 kilometres per day. With the Bolt, you could go over a week without charging. With the LEAF, you get a few extra days. The real difference shows up on long highway trips, where the LEAF’s extra range might save you one charging stop.

Charging Speed:

Both vehicles charge at the same maximum speed—150 kilowatts at a fast charger. But they don’t take the same amount of time to charge:

  • Bolt: 26 minutes to go from 10% to 80% battery
  • LEAF: 35 minutes to go from 10% to 80% battery

That’s a 9-minute difference. The Bolt’s faster charging likely comes from its LFP battery technology, which can accept electricity more quickly than some other battery types.

For home charging overnight, both vehicles charge at similar speeds using a Level 2 home charger (the kind you install in your garage).

Range and Charging Comparison

What Matters2027 Bolt2026 LEAF
Battery Size65 kWh75 kWh
How Far You Can Drive410 km488 km
Extra Range78 km more
Fast Charging Time (10-80%)26 minutes35 minutes
Charging Speed Difference9 minutes longer
How Efficient It Is6.3 km per kWh6.5 km per kWh

Charging Ports: One Hole vs Two Holes

2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

This sounds simple but actually matters for day-to-day convenience.

Bolt: Has one charging port that does everything. It uses the newer NACS connector (the Tesla-style plug), so you can charge at Tesla Superchargers without carrying an adapter. For older public chargers that use the CCS plug, you’ll need an adapter. At home, you charge using this same port.

LEAF: Has two separate charging ports on different sides of the vehicle:

  • J1772 port (driver’s side): For home charging and older public Level 2 chargers
  • NACS port (passenger’s side): For fast charging, including Tesla Superchargers

Both vehicles support “Plug & Charge” at compatible stations—just plug in and charging starts automatically without opening apps or swiping cards.

What This Means: The Bolt is simpler (one port for everything) but requires an adapter for some public chargers. The LEAF has more flexibility but you need to remember which port to use for which type of charging.

Screens, Tech, and Smartphone Connection

2026 Nissan LEAF | Photo: Nissan

Bolt:

  • Two screens: 11.3-inch touchscreen in the centre and 11-inch driver display
  • Google built-in: Google Maps, Google Assistant, and Google Play apps come standard
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
  • Optional Super Cruise: Hands-free highway driving on compatible roads
  • 10 years of OnStar connectivity included
  • Over-the-air updates: The vehicle can update its software automatically, like your phone

LEAF:

  • Screen size depends on which model you buy:
    • Base models (S, S+): Two 12.3-inch screens
    • Higher models (SV+, PLATINUM+): Two 14.3-inch screens
  • Google built-in only on SV+ and PLATINUM+ models; base models use Nissan’s system
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto on all models
  • ProPILOT Assist standard on all models: Adaptive cruise control with lane centering
  • Higher models add extras like a head-up display (projects info on windshield) and Bose premium sound system

What This Means: The Bolt gives you Google’s tech on every model right from the start. The LEAF makes you step up to pricier models for Google integration, but it includes the driving assistance system (ProPILOT) standard across the board. The Bolt’s Super Cruise costs extra.

Technology Comparison

Feature2027 Bolt2026 LEAF (Base)2026 LEAF (Higher Trims)
Centre Screen Size11.3-inch12.3-inch14.3-inch
Driver Screen Size11-inch12.3-inch14.3-inch
Google Maps/AssistantStandardNot includedStandard
Apple CarPlay/Android AutoWirelessWirelessWireless
Hands-Free DrivingSuper Cruise (costs extra)ProPILOT (standard)ProPILOT (standard)
Head-Up DisplayNot availableNot availablePLATINUM+ only
Premium Sound SystemNot specified4 or 6 speakersBose 10-speaker

Inside Space and Cargo Room

2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

Both vehicles seat five passengers with standard heated front seats, but their interior dimensions reflect different design approaches.

Bolt: Based on the previous Bolt EUV architecture, measurements include:

  • Front headroom: 1,016 mm
  • Rear legroom: 993 mm
  • Cargo space: 462 litres with seats up, expanding to 1,611 litres with seats folded
  • Hatchback design with wide rear opening for cargo loading
  • Column shifter creates open space between front seats

LEAF: Nissan provides detailed measurements:

  • Front headroom: 1,013 mm
  • Rear legroom: 807 mm
  • Cargo space: 567 litres with seats up, expanding to 1,559 litres with seats folded
  • The Divide-N-Hide system creates hidden storage under the cargo floor
  • Taller than a typical car (1,557 mm tall), giving you that crossover SUV seating position where you sit higher up

What This Means: The Bolt offers more rear legroom (186 mm extra) and slightly more maximum cargo space with seats folded (52 litres more). The LEAF gives you more day-to-day cargo space with seats up (105 litres more) and that higher SUV seating position. The Bolt’s hatchback design means easier loading through the wide rear opening, while the LEAF’s crossover style gives you a higher cargo floor so you don’t have to bend down as far.

Interior and Cargo Specifications

Dimension2027 Bolt2026 LEAF
Seating Capacity5 passengers5 passengers
Front Headroom1,016 mm1,013 mm
Rear Headroom960 mm944 mm (without roof)
Front Legroom1,124 mm1,077 mm
Rear Legroom993 mm807 mm
Front Shoulder Room1,387 mm1,422 mm
Rear Shoulder Room1,320 mm1,387 mm
Cargo (seats up)462 litres567 litres
Cargo (seats folded)1,611 litres1,559 litres
Overall Height1,616 mm1,557 mm

Safety Features and Driver Assistance

2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

Both vehicles come loaded with modern safety technology. Here’s what you get:

Standard on Both:

  • Automatic emergency braking (car brakes itself to avoid crashes)
  • Lane departure warning (alerts you if you drift out of your lane)
  • Lane keeping assist (gently steers you back into your lane)
  • Blind spot monitoring (warns you about cars in your blind spot)
  • Rear cross-traffic alert (warns you when backing up)
  • Adaptive cruise control (maintains distance from car ahead)

Bolt Extras:

  • Intersection collision mitigation (helps avoid crashes at intersections)
  • Rear automatic braking (brakes for you when reversing)
  • Over 20 safety features total

LEAF Extras:

  • 3D Around View Monitor: Shows you a bird’s-eye view of your car from multiple angles when parking
  • Invisible Hood View: Virtual camera view “through” the front of the car to see curbs or tracks
  • Front Wide View: Wide-angle camera view of what’s ahead and to the sides
  • Secondary Collision Mitigation: Automatically brakes after a first crash to prevent hitting something else

What This Means: Both are very safe. The Bolt focuses on preventing crashes. The LEAF adds multiple cameras that help you see around the vehicle when parking or maneuvering—useful in tight Canadian parking garages or snowy driveways.

What They Look Like

2026 Nissan LEAF | Photo: Nissan
2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

Bolt: Keeps its hatchback shape with updated styling. Seven paint colours available. Comes with 17-inch wheels. The RS model adds sporty touches: glossy black wheels, roof rails, and an exclusive bright yellow colour with red interior stitching. You can add a traditional sunroof that opens.

LEAF: New crossover design that looks more like a small SUV. Sleeker than before with a super-aerodynamic shape (0.26 drag coefficient—very slippery through the air). Cool features include:

  • Power-folding door handles that sit flush with the body
  • Hidden rear door handles (they’re in the back pillar)
  • An electronic dimming sunroof that goes from clear to dark with a button press
  • 18-inch or 19-inch wheels depending on model
  • Nine colour choices including two-tone options (body colour with black roof)

What This Means: The Bolt looks like a modern hatchback. The LEAF looks more like a crossover SUV—taller, more upright, and more family-vehicle styling.

Pricing: What You Actually Pay

2026 Nissan LEAF | Photo: Nissan

Here’s where things get interesting. All prices include delivery fees and charges—this is what you’ll actually pay at the dealer.

Bolt:

  • LT (base model): $43,470
  • RS (sport model): Price not announced yet

LEAF:

  • S+ (base 75 kWh): $47,846 – that’s $4,376 more than the Bolt
  • SV+ (mid-level): $50,846 – that’s $7,376 more than the Bolt
  • PLATINUM+ (top-level): $55,646 – that’s $12,176 more than the Bolt
  • S (53 kWh small battery): Price to be announced, arriving spring 2026

Sweetener for LEAF buyers: The first 200 people who buy a LEAF get a free Level 2 home charger (worth about $800-$1,000). You still have to pay to install it, but the charger itself is free.

What You Get at Similar Prices:

At around $47,000, you’re comparing:

  • Bolt LT ($43,470): Smaller battery, less range, but faster charging and lower price
  • LEAF S+ ($47,846): Bigger battery, more range, crossover styling, but costs $4,376 more

Pricing Comparison

Model2027 Bolt2026 LEAF
Cheapest Option$43,470 (LT)$47,846 (S+) or TBA (S with small battery)
Mid-LevelTBA (RS)$50,846 (SV+)
Top-Level$55,646 (PLATINUM+)
BonusNone announcedFree home charger (first 200 buyers)

When You Can Buy Them

LEAF: Available now at Nissan dealers (as of fall 2025). The 75-kWh battery models (S+, SV+, PLATINUM+) are in stock. The cheaper 53-kWh S model arrives spring 2026.

Bolt: Coming in early 2026 (Q1). But here’s the catch—Chevrolet calls it a “limited run,” meaning they’re only making a certain number and then stopping production. They haven’t said how many or for how long it’ll be available.

What This Means: If you want a LEAF, you can buy one now. If you want a Bolt, you’ll need to wait until early 2026 and might need to act quickly since production is limited.

The Bottom Line: What’s Actually Different?

2027 Chevrolet Bolt | Photo: Chevrolet

Let’s cut through everything and focus on what really matters:

The Bolt is for you if you want:

  • The lowest price: $43,470 gets you in the door
  • Faster charging: 26 minutes to 80% (9 minutes quicker than LEAF)
  • Simpler charging: One port does everything
  • Google tech standard on every model
  • Hatchback practicality with a big rear opening
  • FWD is fine for your needs

The LEAF is for you if you want:

  • More driving range: 488 km vs 410 km (78 km extra)
  • Crossover SUV styling with higher seating
  • Bigger battery: 75 kWh vs 65 kWh
  • More disclosed specs (you know exactly what you’re getting)
  • Choice of battery sizes (53 kWh or 75 kWh)
  • Available now (no waiting)
  • Better cameras for parking and tight spaces

Key Numbers:

  • Price difference: $4,376 more for LEAF S+
  • Range difference: 78 km more for LEAF
  • Charging difference: 9 minutes faster for Bolt
  • Power difference: 4 hp more for LEAF (basically identical)
  • Battery difference: 10 kWh more for LEAF

The Real Question: Is 78 extra kilometres of range worth $4,376 more? That depends on how you drive. If you mostly do short daily commutes, the Bolt’s 410 km is plenty and you save money. If you take regular highway trips or want maximum range for Canadian winters (which reduce EV range), the LEAF’s extra battery capacity might be worth it.

Both are good, practical electric vehicles under $50,000. The Bolt wins on price and charging speed. The LEAF wins on range and space. Neither is objectively “better”—it depends on what matters most to you.

Advertisement

Trending Now

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.