Monday, September 14, 2026
Comparison2027 Range Rover Electric vs 2028 Genesis GV90: Flagship Electric SUVs Compared

2027 Range Rover Electric vs 2028 Genesis GV90: Flagship Electric SUVs Compared

Two full-size luxury brands enter the electric flagship space at the same time, one with a British badge and a $200,800 starting price, the other with more power and no Canadian price yet.

  • Genesis GV90 produces 657 hp to the Range Rover Electric’s 542 hp, while the Range Rover carries more torque at 627 lb-ft versus 590 lb-ft

  • Both charge from 10 to 80% in 22 minutes on a 350 kW DC charger, drawing on a 123.5 kWh battery (GV90) and a 118.5 kWh usable battery (Range Rover Electric)

  • Range Rover Electric starts at $200,800 in Canada; Genesis has not announced Canadian pricing for the GV90


The 2027 Range Rover Electric and the 2028 Genesis GV90 arrived within weeks of each other. JLR unveiled the first electric Range Rover today, built at Solihull on the same architecture as the combustion and plug-in hybrid models. Genesis unveiled the GV90, its first full-size flagship SUV, last month.

Neither vehicle has been driven yet, so this comparison works from specifications and official pricing only.

The two brands approach the electric flagship from different directions. Range Rover treats electrification as an addition to an existing formula: the design, the trim ladder and the all-terrain hardware carry over, and a twin-motor driveline replaces the V8.

Genesis built the GV90 on a new platform, eMP, that exists only for its flagship, and used it to introduce features like hidden B-pillar coach doors, swivelling front seats and a roof airbag.

One note before the numbers: the Range Rover range figure is an estimated real-world number and the GV90 figure is an internal R&D estimate; neither has a Natural Resources Canada rating yet, though NRCan figures rarely stray far from manufacturer estimates. The bigger gap is pricing, where only the Range Rover has a Canadian MSRP.

Powertrain and Performance: Two Motors Each, Different Outputs

2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

Buyers in this segment expect V8-level output from an electric drivetrain, and both vehicles deliver it from a twin-motor layout.

Range Rover Electric uses two permanent-magnet motors, one per axle, designed and built in-house at JLR’s Electric Propulsion Manufacturing Centre in Wolverhampton. Combined output is 542 hp and 627 lb-ft, the highest torque figure of any Range Rover to date. The sprint from 0-97 km/h (0-60 mph) takes 4.3 seconds, and the 80-121 km/h (50-75 mph) passing interval is 2.7 seconds.

The inverters use silicon carbide semiconductors, and the motors produce 20% more torque than other motors of the same physical size.

The GV90 also runs a front and rear motor, rated at 322 hp and 258 lb-ft up front and 335 hp and 332 lb-ft at the rear, for a combined 657 hp and 590 lb-ft. It is the most powerful motor system in any Hyundai Motor Group EV.

The GV90 is also the first Hyundai Motor Group vehicle with a Dual E-LSD, an electronic limited-slip differential on each motor, which manages torque across all four wheels during cornering and on low-grip surfaces. Genesis hasn’t confirmed acceleration times.

The arithmetic: the GV90 has 115 hp more, and the Range Rover Electric has 37 lb-ft more.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Motor layoutTwo permanent-magnet motors, front and rearTwo motors, front and rear
Combined output542 hp / 627 lb-ft657 hp / 590 lb-ft
Front motorNot specified322 hp / 258 lb-ft
Rear motorNot specified335 hp / 332 lb-ft
0-97 km/h (0-60 mph)4.3 secondsNot specified
80-121 km/h (50-75 mph)2.7 secondsNot specified
Torque distributionIntelligent Driveline Dynamics (0-100% rear torque split)Dual E-LSD (front and rear)

 

Battery, Range and Charging: 118.5 kWh vs 123.5 kWh

2028 Genesis GV90 | Photo: Genesis

Range is the number most cross-shoppers check first.

Range Rover Electric carries a 118.5 kWh usable lithium-ion battery built from 344 prismatic cells in a double-stacked layout, on an 800-volt architecture. Estimated real-world range in Canada is up to 535 km. The European WLTP figure is 599 km (372 miles), but that cycle runs higher than North American ratings, and there is no NRCan number yet.

On a 350 kW DC charger, the battery goes from 10 to 80% in 22 minutes, adding up to 201 km in 10 minutes. At home, a 22 kW AC charger takes the battery from 0 to 100% in 9 hours; a 9.6 kW unit takes 15 hours.

A ThermAssist heat management system adds up to 40 km (25 miles) of range in cold conditions and cuts cabin heating energy use by 40%. The battery was tested at -40°C in Arjeplog, Sweden, a data point of some use to buyers in Winnipeg or Quebec City.

The GV90’s 123.5 kWh battery is the largest capacity in any Hyundai Motor Group EV. Estimated range is approximately 499 km (310 miles) for the seven-seat GV90, based on internal R&D tests rather than a regulatory cycle. Genesis hasn’t confirmed whether the 123.5 kWh figure is gross or usable capacity, nor the platform’s operating voltage.

On a 350 kW charger, the battery goes from 10 to 80% in 22 minutes, the same interval as the Range Rover. A Wireless Battery Management System handles cell monitoring, and Thermal Runaway Protection separates each cell to limit heat spread. A cloud-based pre-diagnostic function flags battery anomalies to the driver.

Both vehicles carry a native NACS port for North America. Range Rover Electric includes access to the Tesla Supercharger network; Genesis hasn’t confirmed network arrangements for the GV90.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Battery capacity118.5 kWh (usable)123.5 kWh
Electrical architecture800 voltsNot specified
Range (manufacturer figure)Up to 535 km estimated real-world (Range Rover Canada); 599 km WLTP (Europe)Approx. 499 km (internal R&D estimate, 7-seater)
NRCan range ratingNot yet ratedNot yet rated
DC fast charging (350 kW)10-80% in 22 minutes10-80% in 22 minutes
Range added in 10 minutesUp to 201 kmNot specified
Home AC charging (0-100%)9 hours (22 kW); 15 hours (9.6 kW)Not specified
Charging port (North America)NACS, Tesla Supercharger accessNACS
Cold-weather managementThermAssist (up to 40 km added, 40% heating energy reduction)Heated windshield; radiant heat warmers in armrests, side panels and door trims

 

Chassis, Suspension and Traction Control

2028 Genesis GV90 | Photo: Genesis

Both vehicles ride on air suspension and add electronic traction hardware, but the priorities differ: one is built around off-road capability, the other around urban manoeuvrability.

Range Rover Electric uses twin-chamber air suspension and a lower centre of gravity than the combustion models. Its Integrated Traction Management system adjusts motor speed within 50 milliseconds and manages wheel slip up to 100 times faster than a combustion equivalent. Wading depth is 900 mm and maximum towing capacity is 5,512 lbs (2,500 kg). A Single Pedal mode allows pull-away on 33-degree slopes and rolling climbs up to 45 degrees.

Body styles are standard and long-wheelbase.

The GV90 runs a multi-chamber air suspension with adjustable-stiffness springs and ride-height adjustment, paired with mono-tube dual-valve electronically controlled dampers. Rear-wheel steering turns the rear wheels up to five degrees, bringing the turning radius down to that of a mid-size car. Front brakes are four-piston monobloc calipers on large-diameter discs. Genesis hasn’t confirmed wading depth, ground clearance or approach and departure angles.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
SuspensionTwin-chamber air suspensionMulti-chamber air suspension, mono-tube dual-valve ECS dampers
Rear-wheel steeringNot specifiedYes, up to 5 degrees
Traction managementIntegrated Traction Management (50 ms response), Intelligent Driveline DynamicsDual E-LSD
Wading depth900 mmNot specified
Towing capacity5,512 lbs (2,500 kg)Not specified
Gradient capability33-degree pull-away, 45-degree rolling climbNot specified
Front brakesNot specified4-piston monobloc calipers
Wheelbase options2,997 mm (SWB); 3,199 mm (LWB)Single wheelbase (3,246 mm)

 

Technology, Infotainment and Driver Assistance

2027 Range Rover Electric
2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

The GV90 arrives with a long list of confirmed cabin technology; Range Rover hasn’t yet confirmed the electric model’s screen and infotainment specifications, so the table below has gaps on that side.

The GV90 replaces the start button with a New Power Control System: pulling the door handle powers the vehicle on, the door closes automatically, the Motion Column Shifter rotates from the 12 o’clock to the 2 o’clock position, and the driver starts driving by pressing the brake pedal. A pop-up OLED Cinematic Display measures 23.6 inches while driving and rises 90 mm to 24.6 inches when parked.

A 25-inch head-up display replaces the instrument cluster entirely. Pleos Connect, the Android Automotive-based infotainment platform, supports third-party app downloads through the Pleos App Market and an onboard generative AI assistant called Gleo AI. Remote Smart Parking Assist 3 handles automatic parking, and Memory Reversing Assist retraces the vehicle’s path backward out of tight spaces.

Range Rover Electric gets the new Range Rover App (remote cabin pre-conditioning, lock status, live location, charge status, scheduled charging for off-peak rates) and software-over-the-air capability, backed by a Battery Digital Twin with more than 900 diagnostic data points. Screen sizes, infotainment platform and driver assistance packages for the electric model haven’t been confirmed.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Central displayNot specified23.6-inch OLED, extends to 24.6-inch when parked
Head-up displayNot specified25-inch (replaces instrument cluster)
Infotainment platformNot specifiedPleos Connect (Android Automotive OS), Pleos App Market
Voice assistantNot specifiedGleo AI (generative)
Start procedureNot specifiedNew Power Control System (no start button)
Parking assistanceNot specifiedRemote Smart Parking Assist 3, Memory Reversing Assist
Companion appRange Rover App (pre-conditioning, charge scheduling, location)Not specified
Over-the-air updatesYes, with Battery Digital Twin diagnosticsNot specified

 

Interior, Seating and Materials

2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

Flagship buyers pay for the second row as much as the first, and both brands have built their launch messaging around it.

Range Rover Electric seats four, five or seven depending on configuration and wheelbase. The cabin uses leather and wood trim, with a leather-free option that substitutes wool and other textiles; the First Edition introduces a Light Cloud interior in Ultrafabrics PU and Kvadrat textile. The Range Rover Bespoke commissioning service covers custom paint, materials and embroidery.

Seat features and materials for the SE, HSE, Autobiography and SV grades haven’t been confirmed for the electric model.

The GV90 Neolun introduces the Neolun Arch Gate, hidden B-pillar coach doors in which the rear door slides outward and rotates open independently of the front door. The Neolun also gets motorized front seats that rotate 180 degrees when parked, creating a face-to-face configuration. All GV90 seats include 15 individual air cells and a pulse-vibration massage function.

A 25-speaker Bang & Olufsen Premier 3D system with Dolby Atmos includes Virtual Venue (simulated acoustics of Boston Symphony Hall and Wembley Stadium) and Beosonic tone personalization. Ambient Glow indirect lighting runs across leather, wool cashmere, stone and wood trim.

The Executive Suite four-seat configuration adds a real wood veneer floor with radiant heating, a Comfort Partition between the second row and cargo area, roll blinds, a six-zone Smart Vision Roof with adjustable transparency, semi-aniline leather, a second-row tower console, a refrigerator and integrated tables. The standard GV90 uses conventional swing doors.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Seating configurations4, 5 or 7 (by configuration and wheelbase)7-seat; 4-seat Executive Suite (Neolun)
Rear door typeConventionalCoach doors, hidden B-pillar (Neolun); conventional (GV90)
Front seat swivelNot specified180 degrees (Neolun, when parked)
Massage seatsNot specified15 air cells plus pulse vibration
Audio systemNot specifiedBang & Olufsen Premier 3D, 25 speakers, Dolby Atmos
Interior colour schemesFirst Edition: Light Cloud Ultrafabrics PU and KvadratFive combinations (GV90); five exclusive combinations (Neolun)
Trim materialsLeather and wood; leather-free wool and textile option; Bespoke serviceNatural wood, stone, wool cashmere
Heated windshieldNot specifiedMetal-coated, standard

 

Interior Dimensions and Cargo Space

2028 Genesis GV90 | Photo: Genesis

Range Rover Electric interior and cargo measurements are set for both wheelbases. Genesis hasn’t confirmed interior dimensions or cargo volume for the GV90.

The standard-wheelbase Range Rover Electric offers 999 mm of front headroom and 996.5 mm in the rear, with 1,013 mm and 1,027 mm of legroom. The long-wheelbase version keeps front headroom at 999 mm, drops rear headroom to 978.3 mm and stretches rear legroom to 1,220 mm.

Cargo volume behind the second row is 818 litres on both bodies; with the second row folded, the standard wheelbase holds 1,841 litres and the long wheelbase 2,176 litres. Cargo height is 845.8 mm and width is 1,444 mm on both, with 1,057.3 mm between the wheel arches on the standard body and 1,124 mm on the long.

An optional motorized cargo divider is available, and the lower half of the split tailgate folds down for seating.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Front / rear headroom (SWB)999 mm / 996.5 mmNot specified
Front / rear headroom (LWB)999 mm / 978.3 mmNot specified
Front / rear legroom (SWB)1,013 mm / 1,027 mmNot specified
Front / rear legroom (LWB)1,014 mm / 1,220 mmNot specified
Cargo volume behind second row818 L (SWB and LWB)Not specified
Cargo volume behind first row1,841 L (SWB); 2,176 L (LWB)Not specified
Cargo length behind second row1,092.6 mm (SWB); 1,093 mm (LWB)Not specified
Cargo length behind first row1,975.5 mm (SWB); 2,165 mm (LWB)Not specified
Cargo height / width845.8 mm / 1,444 mmNot specified
Width between wheel arches1,057.3 mm (SWB); 1,124 mm (LWB)Not specified
Cargo dividerOptional, motorizedNot specified

 

Body Structure and Safety Systems

2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

Both vehicles bring new structural engineering, and the GV90 has the more unusual list.

The GV90 carries 12 airbags, including a roof airbag that deploys across the entire roof glass in a rollover, a dual-depth passenger airbag, seat-cushion airbags, curtain airbags extended to the third row and an enlarged driver knee airbag. An in-cabin monitoring system identifies occupant type and posture to adjust airbag and seatbelt response.

The underbody uses cast and extruded aluminum with aluminum exterior panels, ultra-high-strength steel side sections and a slider structure that pushes the motor and subframe beneath the battery in a frontal impact. On the Neolun, dual high-strength steel beams replace the B-pillar and the cabin frame is reinforced to 1.5 times conventional thickness with steel tubes and structural foam; crash performance matches a vehicle with conventional B-pillars.

Range Rover Electric’s safety story centres on the battery: a high-strength aluminum enclosure, multi-axis vibration and shock testing between -40°C and +90°C at a new battery laboratory, and impact resistance that exceeds industry standards. Airbag count and body structure for the electric model haven’t been confirmed. The vehicle covered more than 1.5 million km of physical testing and more than 250,000 hours of virtual testing.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Airbag countNot specified12 (including roof airbag)
Occupant monitoringNot specifiedIn-cabin monitoring system
Body constructionNot specifiedCast and extruded aluminum underbody, aluminum panels, ultra-high-strength steel sides
Battery protectionHigh-strength aluminum enclosure, -40°C to +90°C shock and vibration testingSlider structure, Thermal Runaway Protection, cloud-based BMS diagnostics
Physical testing distanceMore than 1.5 million kmNot specified

 

Exterior Dimensions and Design

2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

Both vehicles sit in the same size bracket. The Range Rover Electric shares its body with the combustion Range Rover, so the figures below apply across the range.

The GV90 measures 5,285 mm long, 2,029 mm wide and 1,816 mm tall on 22-inch wheels (1,826 mm on the 24-inch forged wheels that are standard on the Neolun), with a 3,246 mm wheelbase. Design cues include Wing Face Micro Lens Array headlamps integrated into the bodywork by laser engraving, a dual-layer G-matrix chrome grille, flush surface-emitting taillights and no rear spoiler.

Genesis cites the Korean moon jar as the design reference. Sixteen exterior colours are offered, 13 gloss and three matte. The Neolun adds anodized aluminum accents between the first and second row windows; the standard GV90 uses frame-flush door glass.

Range Rover Electric measures 5,052 mm long on the standard wheelbase and 5,252 mm on the long wheelbase, with a width of 2,047 mm excluding mirrors and a height of 1,870 mm on both. Wheelbases are 2,997 mm and 3,199 mm. The GV90 is 233 mm longer than the standard-wheelbase Range Rover and 33 mm longer than the long-wheelbase version, on a wheelbase 47 mm longer than the long-wheelbase Range Rover.

The electric model adds an aerodynamically optimized grille, dedicated wheels and a tailored underbody to improve highway range. The First Edition comes in Belgravia Green, Santorini Black or Varesine Blue. The full colour palette for the electric model hasn’t been confirmed.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Overall length5,052 mm (SWB); 5,252 mm (LWB)5,285 mm
Overall width (excluding mirrors)2,047 mm2,029 mm
Overall height1,870 mm1,816 mm (22-inch wheels); 1,826 mm (24-inch wheels)
Wheelbase2,997 mm (SWB); 3,199 mm (LWB)3,246 mm
Wheel sizesElectric-specific aerodynamic wheels22-inch; 24-inch forged (standard on Neolun)
Exterior coloursFirst Edition: Belgravia Green, Santorini Black, Varesine Blue16 (13 gloss, 3 matte)

 

Pricing, Trims and Canadian Availability

2028 Genesis GV90 | Photo: Genesis

This section has the biggest information gap, and it sits on the Genesis side.

Range Rover Electric starts at $200,800 MSRP in Canada. The lineup runs SE, HSE, Autobiography, SV, SV Ultra and SV Black, plus the First Edition, in standard and long-wheelbase bodies. Canadian pricing for grades above the base hasn’t been announced.

Order books opened in the UK on September 2, 2026; in Canada, Range Rover is taking waiting-list registrations, and a Canadian delivery date has not been announced.

Genesis has not announced Canadian pricing, trim structure or an on-sale date for the GV90. What is confirmed: two variants (GV90 and GV90 Neolun), a seven-seat layout, a four-seat Executive Suite and a Neolun First Edition in three two-tone exterior combinations (Jaipur Rose and Seychelles Beige, Vik Black and Baena Green, Vik Black and Sonoran Navy) with First Edition logo engraving on the Crystal Sphere Controller, headrests and door sills.

Genesis hasn’t set a Canadian price, but industry estimates circulating ahead of the announcement put the standard GV90 at roughly $135,000 to $150,000 to start, with the Neolun and Executive Suite variants running $200,000 to $350,000. Those are CAD estimates, not Genesis figures. If they hold, the base GV90 would land well below the Range Rover Electric’s $200,800 and a Neolun would bracket it on either side.

Once Genesis announces Canadian figures, the gap to $200,800 will be simple arithmetic.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Starting MSRP (Canada)$200,800$135,000 to $150,000 (industry estimate); $200,000 to $350,000 for Neolun and Executive Suite
Trim levelsSE, HSE, Autobiography, SV, SV Ultra, SV Black, First EditionGV90, GV90 Neolun, Neolun Executive Suite, Neolun First Edition
Body configurationsStandard and long-wheelbaseSingle body; 7-seat or 4-seat
Order statusWaiting list open in Canada (UK order books open)Not announced
Canadian on-sale dateNot announcedNot announced
AssemblySolihull, United KingdomUlsan, South Korea

 

Warranty

2027 Range Rover Electric | Photo: Land Rover

Range Rover Electric carries Land Rover Canada’s standard coverage: a 4-year/80,000 km comprehensive warranty with roadside assistance for the same period, 6-year unlimited-kilometre corrosion coverage, and an 8-year/160,000 km warranty on the high-voltage battery with manufacturing defects repaired at no charge.

Genesis hasn’t confirmed GV90 warranty terms, but its Canadian electric models all carry the same package, and the GV90 has no reason to differ: a 5-year/100,000 km comprehensive warranty, an 8-year/160,000 km EV system warranty covering the motors, inverter, reduction gear, onboard charger and high-voltage battery, and an 8-year/160,000 km battery capacity guarantee to 70% of original capacity.

Genesis Canada also includes five years of complimentary scheduled maintenance, valet service and unlimited-kilometre roadside assistance. Land Rover Canada doesn’t include scheduled maintenance with a new vehicle; it offers a complimentary vehicle health check during paid service visits.

The arithmetic on the comprehensive term: one year and 20,000 km in favour of the Genesis. Battery coverage is identical at eight years and 160,000 km.

Specification2027 Range Rover Electric2028 Genesis GV90
Comprehensive warranty4 years / 80,000 km5 years / 100,000 km
High-voltage battery warranty8 years / 160,000 km8 years / 160,000 km (to 70% capacity)
Corrosion6 years / unlimited km5 years / unlimited km
Roadside assistance4 years / 80,000 km5 years / unlimited km
Complimentary scheduled maintenanceNot included5 years

 

Understanding the Differences

2027 Range Rover Electric vs 2028 Genesis GV90 Comparison
2027 Range Rover Electric vs 2028 Genesis GV90 | Photo: Genesis/Land Rover

On paper, the split is clear. The GV90 leads on power (657 hp vs 542 hp) and battery capacity (123.5 kWh vs 118.5 kWh usable), and it brings cabin and safety content the Range Rover doesn’t offer: coach doors, swivelling front seats, a roof airbag, a 25-inch head-up display and a four-seat Executive Suite. The Range Rover Electric leads on torque (627 lb-ft vs 590 lb-ft).

Both charge in 22 minutes on a 350 kW station, both carry a native NACS port, both use air suspension and both come with an 8-year/160,000 km battery warranty.

On range, the 535 km Range Rover figure and the roughly 499 km GV90 figure both come from the manufacturers, and NRCan ratings rarely land far from them. Taken at face value, the Range Rover holds a 36 km edge from a smaller battery.

Price is the open item. Genesis has built its Canadian lineup on pricing below the German and British competition while fitting more standard equipment; the GV80 against the BMW X5 and Mercedes-Benz GLE is the clearest example. Whether that pattern carries into a flagship with coach doors and a 123.5 kWh battery is the question.

Industry estimates circulating ahead of the announcement put the GV90 at roughly $135,000 to $150,000 to start, rising to $200,000 to $350,000 for the Neolun and Executive Suite variants. Those are CAD estimates, not Genesis figures.

If the base estimate holds, the standard GV90 would start well below the Range Rover Electric’s $200,800, and a Neolun would bracket it on either side. If Genesis prices the flagship as a flagship, the two land much closer.

Either way, the decision splits along a clear line: the Range Rover offers more torque plus a confirmed towing rating and off-road brief; the GV90 offers more power, a larger battery, coach doors and the longer cabin feature list.

Advertisement

Trending Now

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.